National Library of Wales Governance

Charter of the National Library of Wales

The National Library of Wales was established by Royal Charter on 19 March 1907.  Supplemental Charters were granted in 1911 and 1978, which amended the Library's constitution slightly.  On July 19, 2006 a new Supplemental Charter was granted by Her Majesty the Queen. The Supplemental Charter of 2006 revoked the Supplemental Charter of 1978 and substantially changed the Library's constitution and government.  Whereas the Library previously had a Court and Council to govern over it, it now has a Board of Trustees.

Legal status

The National Library of Wales is a body incorporated by Royal Charter and is also a charity (registered number: 525775) and a Welsh Government Sponsored Body (WGSB).

Funding the Library

The Library receives an annual grant in aid from the Welsh Government. This grant is the main source of the Library's income.

Board of Trustees

Since the second half of 2006 (and following the receipt of a new Supplemental Charter from the Queen) the Library has a Board of Trustees known as the 'Board'. The Board has 15 members. 8 members are appointed by the Welsh Government and 7 by the National Library.

The Library has its own officers and the Charter gives the Board the right to delegate any of its functions to them, with the exception of the ability to make regulations and to appoint and dismiss the Chief Executive and Librarian (the Chief Executive and Librarian is employed and he / she is the Library's Accounting Officer).

The Trustees, including three Board Officers, are appointed in accordance with the Revised Statutes 2013. The three officers are the President, Vice President, and Treasurer. The Library's business is also managed and regulated in accordance with the Revised Statutes 2013 and the Regulations organised by the Board.

Board Members

The Trustees, including the three Officers (namely the President, Vice President, and Treasurer), are appointed in accordance with the Revised Statutes 2013.

Current members are:

  • Ashok Ahir (President)
  • Andrew Evans (Vice President)
  • Lee Yale-Helms (Treasurer)
  • Michael Cavanagh
  • Quentin Howard
  • Carl Williams
  • Anwen Jones
  • Elin Royles
  • Gwenllian Lansdown Davies
  • Elaine Treharne
  • Susan Davies
  • David Hay
  • Lydia Rumsey
  • Janet Wademan
  • Hannah Lindsay

Board Meetings

View the Summary of Papers for Board Meetings page for an outline of the Board meeting papers.

Agendas and minutes of Board meetings, by year, are available below. The Board usually meets in the National Library. Dates of meetings in 2022 are shown below.

Please contact our Enquiries Service to request the following documents in other accessible formats.