The Welsh Political Archive Advisory Committee

In 1985 the Library set up the Welsh Political Archive's Advisory Committee, which meets once a year on the first Friday of every November. The annual lecture is held on the same day in the evening.

The members include politicians, historians, broadcasters and political scientists. The Committee provides and important link between the Archives and those active in Welsh politics.

Proposals made by the Committee have led to the publication of a newsletter, the setting up of an annual lecture, and the establishment of an automated database of election results.

Members of the Welsh Political Archive's Advisory Committee

Name Organisation
Prof Roger Awan-Scully Wales Governance Centre
Dr Denis Balsom -
Emeritus Professor Deirdre Beddoe -
Mr Meic Birtwistle Welsh Labour
Dr Sam Blaxland -
Chris Chapman Women's Archive of Wales
Dr Russell Deacon Welsh Liberal Democrats
Mr Darron Dupre Unison
Dr Andrew Edwards Bangor University
Dr Aled Eirug -
Mr Rhys Evans BBC Wales
Cerys Furlong -
Mr Gwyn Griffiths -
Mr Carl Harris Plaid Cymru
Professor Sir Deian Hopkin -
Mr Gareth Howells -
Mrs Sian James  
Mr Gwyn Jenkins -
Prof Angela John Aberystwyth University
Prof Richard Wyn Jones Welsh Governance Centre
Dr Gwenllian Lansdown Davies -
Pedr ap Llwyd The National Library of Wales
Jo McIntyre Welsh Labour
Mr Darren Millar MS Welsh Conservatives
Lord Kenneth O Morgan -
Mr Rob Phillips The National Library of Wales
Dr Owain Roberts The National Library of Wales
Lord Rowlands Labour Party Wales
Ms Jane Runeckles -
Sir Paul Silk -
Dr Guto Thomas BBC Wales
Ms Sian Williams Llafur - Welsh People's History Society