Skip to main content

Appointments to the National Library’s Advisory Body

The President of the the National Library of Wales, Sir Deian Hopkin, is glad to announce today the appointment of four new members to its Advisory Body. The new members are:

Professor Hazel Walford Davies

Retired University Professor, scholar, author and a former member of the Library’s Council and Board of Trustees. Professor Walford Davies was recently elected as Honorary Fellow of The Coleg Cymraeg Genedlaethol.

Andras Iago

Postgraduate PhD student at University of Wales Trinity St. David. Graduated with First Class Honors in History and Welsh from Aberystwyth University in 2006. Andras is one of the Library’s most regular readers and researchers.

Dr Matthew Jarvis

Scholar with an expertise in the poetry of Wales in English. Currently Dr Jarvis is the ‘Anthony Dyson Fellow in Poetry’ at the University of Wales Trinity St. David’s School of Cultural Studies.

Dr Ioan Matthews

Chief Executive of The Prf Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol.

The Advisory Body
The Advisory Body brings together individuals and institutions in Wales with an interest in the Library in order to advise it on the development of its strategy and services.  Its roles are:

  1. to give relevant institutions and interested individuals in Wales the means to express their views on the Library's development
  2. to offer expert advice based on knowledge and expertise in fields relevant to the Library's activities
  3.  to act as ambassadors and promoters of the Library and its aims.

The four new members  were appointed through open competition and will serve for four years, in the first instance.

For Further Information

Elin Hâf, NLW Press Office: 01970 632534