Skip to main content

New Trustees appointed to the Board of The National Library of Wales


The Deputy Minister for Culture, Sport and Tourism, Ken Skates and Sir Deian Hopkin, President, The National Library of Wales, have today announced the appointment of three new Trustees to the Library’s Board of Trustees.

The Deputy Minister has appointed Dr Elizabeth Siberry OBE, and the Library Trustees have appointed Councillor Dyfrig Jones and Mr Richard Houdmont.

Both Dr Elizabeth Siberry and Councillor Dyfrig Jones’ Term of office  will commence on 1 November and Mr Richard Houdmont’s Term  will commence on 1 December. All three Trustees’ period of appointment will last for four years.

Ken Skates, Deputy Minister for Culture, Sport and Tourism said:

“I am pleased to announce the appointments of three new trustees to The National Library of Wales. They each bring with them experience and knowledge in a variety of areas which I am confident will help the Library develop its appeal and reach new audiences.”

Professor Sir Deian Hopkin, President of the Library said:

“The Board of The National Library of Wales is delighted to welcome the appointment of three new trustees, Dr Elizabeth Siberry, Councillor Dyfrig Jones and Mr Richard Houdmont.  Each of our new trustees brings invaluable experience and expertise to the Board as well as a demonstrable commitment to the values and aspirations of the Library. I know that my fellow-trustees will join me in wishing them well as they embark on their term of office.”


Dr Elizabeth Siberry is a former civil servant who served in a number of departments, including as a departmental HR Director and Director of the Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure.

Brought up and educated in Wales, she now splits her time between London and mid Wales and is an independent member of the Council of the University of Wales. She is also a Trustee of the Brecknock Arts Trust, the London Welsh Trust and Trustee designate of the Gregynog Trust.

As a published historian, she writes and researches on the Middle Ages and subjects connected with the arts and history of Brecknockshire.

Councillor Dyfrig Jones now lives in Bethesda, Gwynedd, although he was born and raised in Bangor. Following a period studying at Leeds University, he returned to north Wales to work for Ffilmiau’r Bont in Caernarfon, before his  appointment  as  Editor of the Welsh language  magazine, Barn.

In May 2008 he was elected to serve on Gwynedd Council, and in September of the same year he was appointed as a lecturer in the School of Creative Studies and Media, Bangor University. He is married to Mai, and father of two children, Martha and Iago.

Mr Richard Houdmont is a Welsh-speaking Yorkshireman who moved to Wales in 1977 and joined the University of Wales Press where he rose to Deputy Director. In 2006 he established Houdmont Ltd, working for a variety of clients including CIM (The Chartered Institute of Marketing). From 2008 he became a full-time employee of CIM as Regional Director for Wales. He resigned from CIM in 2015 having delivered success in membership growth, income generation and event attendances.

He remains Chair of Poetry Wales Press, which publishes under the prize-winning Seren imprint. Under his own Houdmont imprint he will continue to publish Welsh-language books for children.

Richard has extensive experience of the publishing industry in Wales having been Chair of Literary Publishers (Wales) Ltd and a member and Chair of the Welsh Books Council Marketing Panel. In addition he was a Board member of Sgript Cymru – Contemporary Drama Wales for seven years.


The Board of Trustees, led by the President , holds The National Library of Wales’ collections in trust for the people of Wales and provides strategic direction for the work of the Library.

The position of Trustee demands a minimum time commitment of up to 12 days per year on Library business and Trustees are unpaid. Seven Board meetings are held annually at venues around Wales attended by Trustees. Trustees may also attend other events and meetings on behalf of the Library.

The Library’s President, who chairs the Board, is Professor Sir Deian Hopkin. Other appointed officials on the Board include the Vice-President, Mrs Tricia Carter, and the Treasurer, Mr Colin John.

Trustees are asked to undertake the responsibilities of a trustee of a charity, as defined and presented by the Charities Commission. Furthermore, Trustees hold office subject to compliance with the Public Standards Committee ‘Seven Principles of Public Life’ and the guidance issued by the Library.

Trustees should also know about the commitments required of them which arise as a result of the Library’s standing as a Welsh Government Sponsored Body. These are presented in the Framework Document, which explains the Terms and Conditions through which the Library receives public funding from the Welsh Government.

Further Information

Elin-Hâf 01970 632534 or