Skip to main content

NLW is one of the ten Network Audio Preservation Centres that have been established across the United Kingdom to deal with the threat facing sound recordings. Each hub will receive funding for three years. The Hubs are:

1.    National Museums Northern Ireland
2.    Archives + Manchester
3.    Norfolk Record Office
4.    National Library of Scotland
5.    University of Leicester
6.    The Keep in Brighton
7.    Tyne and Wear Archives and Museums
8.    National Library of Wales
9.    London Metropolitan Archives
10.    Bristol Culture

A Project Manager, Audio Preservation Engineer, a Sound Cataloguer and a Rights officer have been appointed as part of the team. The Project staff will digitise, catalogue and provide access to 5,000 sound items from the Library’s own collection and from our partners in Wales. These recordings will be used in learning and engagement activities and will raise the profile for Sound Archives across the UK.